We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Sworn to silence

by Castillo, Linda.

Format: Print Book 2011
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 4 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction PB FIC CAS
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  PB FIC CAS
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC CASTILLO
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC CASTILLO
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction FIC CASTIL SWORN
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC CASTIL SWORN
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Mystery MYSTERY pbk CASTILLO
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MYSTERY pbk CASTILLO
 
 
Summary

Now the subject of the Lifetime original movie An Amish Murder



Sworn to Silence is the first in Linda Castillo's New York Times bestselling Kate Burkholder series .

Some secrets are too terrible to reveal. Some crimes are too unspeakable to solve. . . .

In Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and "English" residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But sixteen years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. A young Amish girl named Kate Burkholder survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer . . . but ultimately decided to leave her community.

A wealth of experience later, Kate has been asked to return to Painters Mill as chief of police. Her Amish roots and big-city law enforcement background make her the perfect candidate. She's certain she's come to terms with her past--until the first body is discovered in a snowy field.

Kate vows to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must betray both her family and her Amish past--and expose a dark secret that could destroy her.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Ohio's Amish country serves as the bucolic backdrop for romance novelist Castillo's consistently chilling mystery debut. Kate Burkholder grew up in idyllic Painters Mill, where many residents drive buggies, shun electricity, and distance themselves from the complications of modern life. The presence of a serial killer shatters the stillness of the town, leaving its citizenry terrified and on guard. During this time, young Kate's life takes a fateful turn when she is sexually assaulted by an Amish man named Daniel Lapp. She shoots Lapp in self-defense and, seeing blood splattered across the floor, is certain he's dead. (Her father drags away the body, and the family banishes the incident from their memories, never reporting it to police.) With Lapp's demise, the area murders cease. Rattled residents rest easily once again. Fast-forward 16 years. Kate, now chief of police in Painters Mill, is faced with a series of brutal crimes in which the female victims are tortured and raped. Could Daniel Lapp still be alive? Kate battles her inner demons as she tracks down a killer who shows no sign of letting up. Can she come clean about her past without losing her job? Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense.--Block, Allison Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: ""A gun-toting, cursing, former Amish female chief of police" stars in this excellent first in a new suspense series from romance veteran Castillo (Fade to Red). When a serial killer strikes bucolic Painters Mill, Ohio, the killer's signature-Roman numerals ritualistically carved into each victim's abdomen-matches the MO of four unsolved murders from 16 years earlier. Police chief Kate Burkholder, who's reluctant to dredge up the past, must keep secret that she knows why the old murders stopped. Not satisfied with the case's progress, local politicos set up a multijurisdictional task force to assist, including a law-enforcement agent battling his own demons. The added scrutiny and the rising body count threaten to push the chief over the edge. Adept at creating characters with depth and nuance, Castillo smoothly integrates their backstories into a well-paced plot that illuminates the divide between the Amish and "English" worlds. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Kate Burkholder Mystery series
Features Kate Burkholder, chief of police in the Amish town of Painters Mill, Ohio
#1 - Sworn to silence
#2 - Pray for silence
#3 - Breaking silence
#4 - Gone missing
#5 - Her last breath
#6 - The Dead will tell
#7 - After the storm
#8 - Among the wicked
#9 - Down a dark road
#10 - A Gathering of secrets
#11 - Shamed
Subjects Women police chiefs -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Amish -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Serial murderers -- Fiction.
Amish Country (Ohio) -- Fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher New York :Minotaur Books,2011
Edition 1st Minotaur Books trade pbk. ed.
Language English
Description x, 366 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780312597160 (pbk.)
0312597169 (pbk.)
Other Classic View