The other typist

by Rindell, Suzanne,

Format: Print Book [2013]
Availability: Available at 19 Libraries 19 of 21 copies
Available (19)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Fiction Fic Rind
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Rind
 
 
Avalon Public Library Fiction FIC RIN
Location  Avalon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RIN
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Fiction FIC RINDELL Suzanne
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RINDELL Suzanne
 
 
CLP - Beechview Fiction FICTION Rindell
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Rindell
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Rindell
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Rindell
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction FIC RINDELL
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RINDELL
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Fiction FIC RIN
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RIN
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction F RIND
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F RIND
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Fiction F RIN
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  F RIN
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction FIC RIN
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RIN
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F RINDELL Suzanne
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F RINDELL Suzanne
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC RINDE
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RINDE
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC RINDELL
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RINDELL
 
 
Penn Hills Library Fiction RIN
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  RIN
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction Fic Rindell
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Rindell
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC RINDELL
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RINDELL
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction F RIN
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F RIN
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Historical Fiction HISTORICAL RINDELL Suzanne
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Historical Fiction
 
Call Number  HISTORICAL RINDELL Suzanne
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Rindell
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Rindell
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Staff Picks CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Staff Picks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell's debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review

For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years.
 
Rose Baker seals men's fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee.

This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Rose, a police precinct typist in Prohibition New York, has seen many things. As the recorder of confessions and transgressions of all sorts, she considers herself to be an astute judge of character. So when Odalie Lazare, a new typist, arrives in the office, Rose is intrigued by her beauty, charm, and seeming wealth. Rose becomes infatuated with Odalie, who is not what she appears to be, as Odalie pulls Rose into a world filled with speakeasies, bootleggers, and elite estate parties. With hints toward The Great Gatsby, Rindell's novel aspires to re-create Prohibition-era New York City, both its opulence and its squalid underbelly. She captures it quite well, while at the same time spinning a delicate and suspenseful narrative about false friendship, obsession, and life for single women in New York during Prohibition.--Paulson, Heather Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Rose Baker is inexperienced and unworldly. She takes and types criminal confessions of every sordid kind for a New York City police precinct, but her life is otherwise unremarkable. Due to the increase of crime resulting from prohibition (the book is set in 1923), a new typist is hired to help with the workload, and Rose is intrigued. Odalie is beautiful, provocative, and more than a little unscrupulous. Rose gets swept into Odalie's world of fashion trends and speakeasies, and finds it exhilarating. As she relates her growing involvement with Odalie, Rose becomes as uncertain of Odalie's motives as she is infatuated. Gretchen Mol is effective in narrating Rindell's novel. She sounds young, reserved, and thoughtful. And the voices Mol-who turns in an earnest and capable performance-lends the other characters are appropriate. An Amy Einhorn/Putnam hardcover. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Typists -- Fiction.
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction.
Women -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction.
Police stations -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction.
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 1898-1951 -- Fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher New York :[2013]
Language English
Notes "Amy Einhorn Books."
Description 356 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780399161469
0399161465
Other Classic View