Mystic city

by Lawrence, Theo.

Format: Print Book 2012
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA LAWRENCE Theo
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA LAWRENCE Theo
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Lawrence
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Lawrence
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F LAWRENCE
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F LAWRENCE
 
 
Summary
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud--and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection--and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city--including herself.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Global warming has submerged much of what was New York City; the rich now live in the Aeries, skyscrapers looming above the squalid Depths. Manhattan is governed by a corrupt Aeries government and runs on the magical energy drained from humans known as Mystics, who must register with the authorities and are drained regularly to keep them subdued. Eighteen-year-old Aria Rose, daughter of a prominent Aeries politician, is engaged to Thomas Foster, the son of the Rose family's political rival but she has no memory of their supposed secret romance and is disturbed by random memories of intense, passionate encounters with someone else. Why can't she remember? Has Aria overdosed on a hallucinogenic drug, as she has been told, or is there a much larger plot between the Rose and Foster families? With the New York setting, incredible wealth, and many elaborate costume changes, it's more than a little reminiscent of the Gossip Girl series, but the story flames up into cinematic and fiery battles that promise sequels. Class issues and an important election are primary themes, giving this dystopian adventure debut immediate ties to the present.--Carton, Debbie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Several generations into climate change, parts of Manhattan are 30 feet underwater, and class divisions are progressing rapidly down the path H.G. Wells envisioned. The air-conditioned heights of the Aeries are havens of thuggish privilege, while in the swampy Depths are the poor and the mystics, a strictly controlled class of magicians whose powers are drained to keep them in check. Aria Rose is the only daughter of a city powerbroker and has lost weeks of her memory to a recreational drug overdose. In that lost time, she had a whirlwind romance with the scion of a rival family-or so her parents tell her. A dynastic marriage has been arranged in the name of "true love." But if Aria was so in love with Thomas Foster, why is she obsessed with a rogue mystic who haunts her movements and her dreams? Debut author Lawrence's writing is assured, though pacing and characterization take second place to the milieu. Aria is surrounded by gorgeous yet bland secondary characters, and it takes a while to warm up to her predicament. Ages 12-up. Agents: Michael Stearns and Ted Malawer, the Inkhouse. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Memory -- Juvenile fiction.
Rich people -- Juvenile fiction.
Memory -- Fiction.
Wealth -- Fiction.
New York (N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction.
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction.
Love stories.
Science fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
Publisher New York, N.Y. :Delacorte Press,2012
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 399 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780385741606 (hc)
038574160X (hc)
9780375990137 (glb)
0375990135 (glb)
Other Classic View