Heads in beds : a reckless memoir of hotels, hustles, and so-called hospitality

by Tomsky, Jacob.

Format: Print Book 2012
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 12 of 13 copies
Available (12)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor - Non-fiction TX911.3.F75 T66 2012
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Second Floor - Non-fiction
 
Call Number  TX911.3.F75 T66 2012
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Nonfiction 647.94 T599
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  647.94 T599
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Biography 92 TOMSKY Jacob
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Biography
 
Call Number  92 TOMSKY Jacob
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Biography 92 TOM
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Biography
 
Call Number  92 TOM
 
 
Dormont Public Library Non-Fiction 647.94 T59
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  647.94 T59
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Non-fiction 647.94 TOMSKY
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Non-fiction
 
Call Number  647.94 TOMSKY
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Non-Fiction 647.94 Tom
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  647.94 Tom
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Nonfiction 647.94 TOMSK
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  647.94 TOMSK
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Biography B TOM
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Biography
 
Call Number  B TOM
 
 
Penn Hills Library Non-Fiction 647.94 TOM
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  647.94 TOM
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Nonfiction 647.94 T66
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  647.94 T66
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Nonfiction 647.94092 TOM 2012
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  647.94092 TOM 2012
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - East Liberty Non-Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Non-Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant , a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in "hospitality" for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who's seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets--not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it's like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you'll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Comparisons to Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential (2000) are inevitable but not entirely accurate. Yes, both Tomsky and Bourdain purport to expose the underbelly of service industries with which most readers are familiar, hotels and restaurants. But where Bourdain is all rock 'n' roll, egotistical bluster, Tomsky is surprisingly earnest and sympathetic; there are, after all, no television programs called Top Desk Clerk. He wants your respect, not your adulation. Sure, he tosses off a few requisite f-bombs, instructs readers on how to steal from hotel minibars, and name-drops Brian Wilson, of the Beach Boys, more so because he seems to feel the genre demands it. Indeed, it would be easy to pen a book about crazy hotel guests. But this memoir succeeds, instead, in humanizing the people who park our cars, clean our hotel rooms, and carry our luggage. You will never not tip housekeeping or your bellhop again. Tomsky fell into hotel work and proved to be rather good at it; the same can be said for his writing.--Wetli, Patty Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Those who want a hotel up-grade, who must make a same-day room cancellation without getting charged, or wonder why hotel water sometimes tastes like lemon Pledge need look no further than Tomsky's memoir, a collection of stories, memories, and secrets about the hospitality business. Bouncing around various hotel jobs-bellman, housekeeping manager, front desk attendant-for more than a 10 years, he's got the skinny that would make most travel sites blush. Follow his advice and you'll be drinking from the mini-bar and watching in-room movies for free. But this is more than a collection of trade secrets; it's a colorful tale filled with vibrant characters from crazy bellman to even crazier guests. Tomsky is a solid storyteller who is able to intricately detail all the insanity surrounding him. Agent: Farley Chase. (Nov.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Tomsky, Jacob -- Anecdotes.
Hotel clerks -- United States -- Biography.
Hotels -- Employees -- Biography.
Hotels -- United States -- Humor.
Publisher New York :Doubleday,2012
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 247 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 9780385535632 (hardback) :
0385535635 (hardback)
Other Classic View