Dancing for Mr. B six Balanchine ballerinas

Format: DVD 2008
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video (DVD) GV1785.A1 D31 2008x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
Call Number  (DVD) GV1785.A1 D31 2008x
Even after the death of the great choreographer and ballet master George Balanchine, the legacy of his beautiful ballets and the striving for perfection, which he instilled in his dancers lives on. This documentary celebrates six of Balanchine's ballerinas, Mary Ellen Moylan, Maria Tallchief, Melissa Hayden, Allegra Kent, Merrill Ashley and Darci Kistler, and shows them keeping alive the ballets and the inspiration they learned from him. For all of them Balanchine was the single most powerful influence in their lives.
Excerpts from: Concerto barocco
Symphony in C
Stars and stripes
Ballo della regina
Four temperaments
Scotch symphony.

Additional Information
Subjects Balanchine, George -- Influence.
Tallchief, Maria.
Moylan, Mary Ellen.
Hayden, Melissa.
Kent, Allegra.
Ashley, Merrill.
Kistler, Darci, -- 1964-
Dancers -- United States -- Biography.
Ballets -- Excerpts.
Documentary films.
Biographical films.
Televised ballets.
Publisher West Long Branch, NJ :Kultur,2008
Edition Full screen.
Contributors Belle, Anne, producer, director.
Dickson, Deborah, director.
Seldes, Marian, narrator.
Lenzer, Don, director of photography.
Tallchief, Maria, interviewee, dancer.
Moylan, Mary Ellen, interviewee, dancer.
Hayden, Melissa, interviewee, dancer.
Kent, Allegra, interviewee, dancer.
Ashley, Merrill, interviewee, dancer.
Kistler, Darci, 1964- interviewee, dancer.
Seahorse Films, production company.
WNET (Television station : New York, N.Y.), production company.
Kultur International Films.
Participants/Performers Interviewees: Maria Tallchief, Mary Ellen Moylan, Melissa Hayden, Allegra Kent, Merrill Ashley, Darci Kistler.
Other Contributors Narrator, Marian Seldes ; pianists, Alla Edwards & Paul Patton ; cinematographer, Don Lenzer.
Language English
Notes Originally produced in 1989.
System Details DVD; all regions; NTSC; 4:3 full screen; Dolby Digital 2.0.
Description 1 videodisc (82 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9780769787572
Other Classic View