You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

This is civilisation

Format: DVD 2012
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video (DVD) N5300.T52 2012x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
Call Number  (DVD) N5300.T52 2012x
Artist and broadcaster Matthew Collings travels from London to Beijing in a sweeping exploration of the common threads of inspiration and influence that link diverse art movements over centuries and continents. The four-part series is a contemporary update of the BBC's landmark 1969 series Civilization, with anexpanded focus on non-Western art.
Ye Gods
Save our souls

Additional Information
Subjects Art -- History.
Art criticism.
Art appreciation.
Documentary television programs.
Educational television programs.
Nonfiction television programs.
Television mini-series.
Video recordings for the hearing impaired.
Publisher [Silver Spring, Md.] :Athena,2012
Edition Widescreen.
Other Titles This is civilization
Contributors Collings, Matthew.
Mortimer, Sarah (Producer)
Crombie, Neil.
Seneca Productions.
Channel Four (Great Britain)
Athena (Firm)
Participants/Performers Presenter, Matthew Collings.
Other Contributors Director of photography, David Marsh ; editors, Joe Matthews... [et al.] ; music Jon Wygens.
Audience Not rated.
Language English
In English; with optional English subtitles for the deaf and hearing impaired (SDH).
Notes Documentary.
Originally broadcast as a four-part television mini-series in 2007.
Accompanying material may include a booklet (9 p. : col. ill.) comprising three essays written and edited by John Sullaway, Elizabeth Stocum and Jennifer Coggins.
Special features: Biographies of featured artists.
System Details DVD; widescreen (16:9) presentation; Dolby digital stereo.
Description 2 videodiscs (193 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781598288162
Other Classic View