When it happens to you : a novel in stories

by Ringwald, Molly.

Format: Print Book 2012
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 4 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Ringwald
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
Call Number  FICTION Ringwald
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction FIC RINGWALD
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
Collection  Fiction
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction RINGWALD Molly
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  RINGWALD Molly
Plum Community Library Fiction FIC RIN
Location  Plum Community Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FIC RIN

Tales of love, loss, and betrayal are at the heart of When It Happens to You, the debut story collection from actress and author Molly Ringwald.

A Hollywood icon, Ringwald defined the teenage experience in the eighties in such classic films as Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, and Sixteen Candles. Now the star of ABC Family's hit series, The Secret Life of the American Teenager, and author of the bestselling memoir Getting the Pretty Back, Ringwald brings that same compelling candor she displayed in her film roles to the unforgettable characters she has created in this series of linked stories about the particular challenges, joys, and disappointments of adult relationships.

Here are stories that grapple with infertility and infidelity, fame and familial discord, in a magnificent collection that will resonate broadly with readers--from fans of Melissa Banks to Meg Wolitzer to Lorrie Moore.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The repercussions of an infidelity ripple throughout the linked stories that constitute actress Ringwald's first foray into fiction. Greta and her husband, Phillip, are trying desperately to have a second child when she discovers he's been unfaithful to her with their daughter's 19-year-old violin teacher. Greta kicks Phillip out of the house and wrestles with her anger over the betrayal and the question of whether she wants to end their marriage or not. In the wake of their family's disintegration, Greta, Phillip, and their daughter, Charlotte, all find themselves seeking solace elsewhere. Greta falls into a passionate affair with a younger actor who is the star of a popular children's show, while Phillip entertains a flirtation with a single mother whose young son, Oliver, is reinventing himself as Olivia. Charlotte begins spending time with an elderly neighbor who is still grief-stricken after the death of her husband five years earlier. Ringwald's name will no doubt draw lots of curious readers who will find that she acquits herself well in this graceful and deft debut.--Huntley, Kristine Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In her literary debut, actress Molly Ringwald's collection of interlinking stories explores the lives and relationships of a variety of everyday people (a housewife, an elderly woman, even a former child star much like the author herself) and unites these very different people in surprising ways. In this audio edition, Ringwald proves as good a reader as she is an actress: her narration is crisp, well paced, and passionate. With just slight vocal modifications, she provides her characters with distinct voices. Additionally, she subtly alters her tone and cadence to highlight moments of tension and drama. From the very start, listeners will find it easy to get lost in Ringwald's narration and stories. An impressive display of both prose and performance. An HC/It hardcover. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Betrayal -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :It Books,2012
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 240 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780061809460
Other Classic View