Death comes to Pemberley

by James, P. D.

Format: Print Book 2011
Availability: Available at 31 Libraries 33 of 35 copies
Available (33)
Location Collection Call #
Avalon Public Library Fiction FIC JAM
Location  Avalon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC JAM
 
 
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction JAM
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  JAM
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Mystery FIC JAMES P.D.
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  FIC JAMES P.D.
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Mysteries MYS JAM
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Call Number  MYS JAM
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Fiction FIC Jam
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC Jam
 
 
CLP - Beechview Mysteries FICTION James
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Call Number  FICTION James
 
 
CLP - Brookline Fiction FICTION James
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION James
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION James
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION James
 
 
CLP - Homewood Mysteries FICTION James
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Call Number  FICTION James
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F JAM
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F JAM
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction FIC JAMES
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC JAMES
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction Fic James
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic James
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Mysteries FIC JAM mys
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Call Number  FIC JAM mys
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Mysteries MYS FIC JAM
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Mysteries
 
Call Number  MYS FIC JAM
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Mystery FM JAM
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Mystery
 
Call Number  FM JAM
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction F JAMES
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F JAMES
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction FIC JAM
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC JAM
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Mystery JAMES P.D.
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  JAMES P.D.
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F JAMES P.D.
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F JAMES P.D.
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction MYS JAMES
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MYS JAMES
 
 
Northland Public Library Mystery FIC JAMES MYS
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  FIC JAMES MYS
 
 
Penn Hills Library Mystery MYS JAMES
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MYS JAMES
 
 
Pine Center Branch Fiction MYS JAMES
Location  Pine Center Branch
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MYS JAMES
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Mystery Fic Mys James
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  Fic Mys James
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Mystery Fic Mys James
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  Fic Mys James
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC JAMES
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC JAMES
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction M JAM
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  M JAM
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Mystery MYSTERY JAMES
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MYSTERY JAMES
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Fiction FIC JAM
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC JAM
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Fiction AF JAME
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  AF JAME
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Mystery Fiction MYSTERY JAMES P.D.
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Mystery Fiction
 
Call Number  MYSTERY JAMES P.D.
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Mystery Fiction MYSTERY JAMES P.D.
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Mystery Fiction
 
Call Number  MYSTERY JAMES P.D.
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Mystery Collection MYS James
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery Collection
 
Call Number  MYS James
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Mystery CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
A rare meeting of literary genius: P. D. James, long among the most admired mystery writers of our time, draws the characters of Jane Austen's beloved novel Pride and Prejudice into a tale of murder and emotional mayhem.
 
It is 1803, six years since Elizabeth and Darcy embarked on their life together at Pemberley, Darcy's magnificent estate. Their peaceful, orderly world seems almost unassailable. Elizabeth has found her footing as the chatelaine of the great house. They have two fine sons, Fitzwilliam and Charles. Elizabeth's sister Jane and her husband, Bingley, live nearby; her father visits often; there is optimistic talk about the prospects of marriage for Darcy's sister Georgiana. And preparations are under way for their much-anticipated annual autumn ball.
 
Then, on the eve of the ball, the patrician idyll is shattered. A coach careens up the drive carrying Lydia, Elizabeth's disgraced sister, who with her husband, the very dubious Wickham, has been banned from Pemberley. She stumbles out of the carriage, hysterical, shrieking that Wickham has been murdered. With shocking suddenness, Pemberley is plunged into a frightening mystery.
 
Inspired by a lifelong passion for Austen, P. D. James masterfully re-creates the world of Pride and Prejudice, electrifying it with the excitement and suspense of a brilliantly crafted crime story, as only she can write it.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Really, gentle reader, there are limits. When mystery grande dame P. D. James felt the mantle of Jane Austen fall on her shoulders, why didn't she simply shrug it off? Instead, she has produced a straight-faced mystery no zombies in which a murdered body is found on the grounds of Darcy and Elizabeth's stately home, Pemberley. James places a template of Austen characters and Austen-like language over a traditional mystery plot and even takes on the role of the omniscient Austen narrator herself. The mystery is set in 1803, six years after the wedding of Elizabeth and Darcy, with ample space given to catching us up on the recent doings of the Bennet family. On the mystery side, there's plenty of action, from the discovery of Captain Denny's body, through a trial, assorted deceptions and mix-ups, and love affairs. Unfortunately, though, if this is meant as an homage, it's a pretty weak cup of tea, starting with a greatly diluted version of Austen's famous truth universally acknowledged opening. James' many fans will be pleased to see any kind of new book from the 91-year-old author, but discriminating Austen devotees are unlikely to appreciate the move from social comedy to murder. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: This late addition to Knopf's winter list will require some last-minute marketing, but it has two very bankable Englishwomen on its side: Austen and James.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "James's latest mystery is set in 1803 and picks up where Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice left off: Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet are married and have twin boys. The family lives at Pemberley, an elegant old mansion where they often entertain people of consequence and hold lavish balls. But a murder in the woods on the property interferes with their otherwise idyllic lives and shrouds Pemberley in mystery and fear. Rosalyn Landor turns in an excellent performance, with well-paced narration that captures the posh atmosphere of James's (and Austen's) world. Landor also creates unique voices for the books many characters, modulating her voice for males and lending working-class dialect to servants. Highly recommended for fans of both Austen and James. A Knopf hardcover. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Darcy, Fitzwilliam -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Bennet, Elizabeth -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
England -- Fiction.
Regency fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Publisher New York :Alfred A. Knopf,2011
Edition 1st U.S. ed.
Language English
Description 291 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 9780307959850
0307959856
Other Classic View