City of fire

by Yep, Laurence, 1948-

Format: Print Book 2009
Availability: Available at 5 Libraries 5 of 5 copies
Available (5)
Location Collection Call #
Dormont Public Library Juvenile Fiction J YEP
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J YEP
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j YEP Laurence
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j YEP Laurence
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J YEP
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J YEP
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j YEP
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j YEP
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Fiction J F YEP
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F YEP
 
 
Summary

Two-time Newbery Honor Award-winning author Laurence Yep kicks off an action-packed new fantasy trilogy

Sure to appeal to fans of Rick Riordan and Eoin Colfer, this action-packed tale takes readers on an unforgettable journey through an alternate version of our world in 1941--a world filled with magical beings such as dragons in human form, tiny "lap griffins," reincarnations of legendary Chinese warriors, Japanese folk creatures, and goddesses in disguise.

When her older sister dies trying to prevent the theft of one of her people's great treasures, twelve-year-old Scirye sets out to avenge her and recover the precious item. Helping her are Bayang, a dragon disguised as a Pinkerton agent; Leech, a boy with powers he has not yet discovered; and Leech's loyal companion Koko, who has a secret of his own. All have a grudge against the thieves who stole the treasure: the evil dragon Badik and the mysterious Mr. Roland.

Scirye and her companions pursue the thieves to Houlani, a new Hawaiian island being created by magic. There, they befriend Pele, the volatile and mercurial goddess of volcanoes. But even with Pele on their side, they may not be able to stop Mr. Roland from gaining what he seeks: the Five Lost Treasures of Emperor Yu. Together, the treasures will give him the power to alter the very fabric of the universe.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Revenge unites unlikely allies: an assassin who is also a dragon, a princess with a griffin for a bodyguard, and an orphan with multipurpose jewelry and a shape-changing sidekick. They are on the trail of the nefarious Mr. Roland, who has stolen a sacred relic and killed the princess's sister in an alternate reality 1941 San Francisco. Their pursuit takes them to a newly formed island near Honolulu where, with the help of the quirky goddess Pele, they attempt to stop Roland in his quest to gather five magical objects that will give him control of the world. Stuffed with intricate detail and complemented by a short note indicating a connection to real-world history, this first installment in a new trilogy introduces the characters, who host the story in alternating chapters, and sends the intrepid band on a hair-raising quest in and around lava tubes and floes. Yet the bad guy escapes at the end, and readers will be on tenterhooks awaiting the next episode of this exhilarating chase.--Welch, Cindy Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "They couldn't be more different: 12-year-old Scirye is the well-traveled daughter of a noble family from the ancient Kushan empire in central Asia. Leech, also 12, is a boy of the streets who trusts no one. And Bayang is only disguised as human while she seeks out Leech, who she has been assigned to kill because he was a murderer of her kind in a past life. Yet in Yep's alternate 1941 San Francisco-in which sprites, naiads, and other magical creatures coexist with humans-the disparate characters come together as tenuous allies when a dragon attacks them and steals a priceless Kushan artifact. As the heroes learn to trust each other and uncover who ordered the dragon attack as well as the secrets of the powerful artifact, they make their way to the Kingdom of Hawaii, where they encounter the tempestuous goddess Pele, a risky ally. As usual, Yep successfully mixes adventure, history (of the often overlooked variety), colorful period detail, and magic with characters that young readers will want to follow into the next book in this promising planned trilogy. Ages 11-14. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Series Yep, Laurence, 1948- City trilogy ; 1.
Subjects Pele -- (Hawaiian deity) -- Juvenile fiction.
Pele -- (Hawaiian deity) -- Fiction.
Fantasy -- Juvenile fiction.
Magic -- Juvenile fiction.
Dragons -- Juvenile fiction.
Fantasy.
Magic -- Fiction.
Dragons -- Fiction.
Hawaii -- Juvenile fiction.
Hawaii -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Tom Doherty Associates,2009
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Notes "Starscape."
Includes reader's guide.
Description 320 pages ; 22 cm.
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references.
ISBN 9780765319241 (alk. paper)
0765319241 (alk. paper)
Other Classic View