Do unto otters a book about manners

Format: DVD 2008
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Movies j DVD DO
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Movies
 
Call Number  j DVD DO
 
 
Summary
When the Otters move next door to Mr. Rabbit, he does not know how to act with them. A story that hightlights how to be a good neighbor and friend. Just simply follow the Golden Rule! Includes read-along option.
When the Otters move in next door to Mr. Rabbit, he does not know how to act with them. This is the story that highlights how to be a good neighbor and friend - just simply follow the Golden Rule!
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* From the gleeful title pun to the kinetic illustrations, this clever book from the creator of Open Wide: Tooth School Inside (2000) introduces the golden rule with irresistible humor. Mr. Rabbit is worried about life with his new neighbors, the Otter family: I don't know anything about otters. What if we don't get along?  Then a wise bird introduces Mr. Rabbit to a favorite saying: Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you. As Rabbit ponders how he would like to be treated, he covers the basics of polite and responsible behavior, from saying a cheerful hello  and please and thank you to being honest, considerate, and kind. The clean design features well-placed arrows and other visual cues to help children quickly jump through the multiple images on each page, a feature that, combined with the wildly expressive cartoon-style animal characters, makes the scenes feel like part of an animated film. As usual, Keller packs the tale with unabashedly goofy puns, jokes, and even a few fart references, and the sheer silliness and well-tuned comic timing of it all will easily pull kids into the clearly explained concepts. Pair this sly, intelligent guide to etiquette with other equally unstuffy picture-book titles in the adjacent Read-alikes: Mind Your Manners. --Engberg, Gillian Copyright 2007 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Keller's (The Scrambled States of America) latest offers lessons in the social graces, featuring Mr. Rabbit and his whiskery new neighbors, the otters. "I don't know anything about otters," the pink-eyed, pink-nosed protagonist agonizes. "What if we don't get along?" At this, a bookish owl pops in from the margin with an apt take on the Golden Rule: "Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you." Hmmm...," muses Mr. Rabbit, "How would I like otters to treat me?" When he opines, "I'd like otters to be polite," a gray otter in polka-dot shorts demonstrates how to say "please" in five languages (counting Pig Latin), then does the same for "thank you" and the indispensable "excuse me." Later, the smiling otters "co-otter-ate" and help friends move a heavy log. Even disagreements can be managed. Keller loads her acrylic-on-paper images with comical asides and tangential conversations, and goggle eyes, rubbery smiles and rounded teeth suggest her cast's goofball personalities; no mistaking them for Little Lord Fauntleroys. Without prescribing perfect etiquette, Keller serves up sound, friendly advice for maintaining a peaceable kingdom. Ages 5-8. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Golden rule -- Fiction -- Juvenile films.
Neighborliness -- Fiction -- Juvenile films.
Rabbits -- Fiction -- Juvenile films.
Otters -- Fiction -- Juvenile films.
Children's films.
Animated films.
Video recordings for the hearing impaired.
Publisher Norwalk, Ct :Scholastic/Weston Woods Studios,2008
Other Titles Weston Woods presents
Contributors Fott, Galen.
Keller, Laurie.
Scholastic Inc.
Weston Woods Studios.
Participants/Performers Voices by Jack Sundrud, Rusty Young, Diana Canova, David de Vries.
Other Contributors Music by Jack Sundrud and Rusty Young.
Audience Ages 4-8; Lexile®: N/A; Guided Reading Level: M.
Language English
Closed-captioned.
Notes Animated DVD of the book Do unto otters / by Laurie Keller. Published by Henry Holt and Company, c2007.
Includes an interview with author/illustrator Laurie Keller.
Special features: includes Read-along option ; easy-to-use menus.
System Details DVD.
Description 1 videodisc (10 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 0545092132
9780545092135
Other Classic View