Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Sworn to silence

by Castillo, Linda.

Format: Book on CD 2009
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 4 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Squirrel Hill Audiovisual Collection CD Castillo
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Call Number  CD Castillo
 
 
Northland Public Library Audio Books FIC CASTILLO (COMPACT DISC)
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Books
 
Call Number  FIC CASTILLO (COMPACT DISC)
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection ABOCD Castillo
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Call Number  ABOCD Castillo
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Brookline Audiovisual Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
A killer is preying on sacred ground... .

In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and "English" residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But sixteen years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. In the aftermath of the violence, the town was left with a sense of fragility, a loss of innocence. Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl, survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer but came away from its brutality with the realization that she no longer belongedwith the Amish.

Now, a wealth of experience later, Kate has been asked to return to Painters Mill as Chief of Police. Her Amish roots and big city law enforcement background make her the perfect candidate. She's certain she's come to terms with her past - until the first body is discovered in a snowy field. Kate vows to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must betray both her family and her Amish past - and expose a dark secret that could destroy her.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Ohio's Amish country serves as the bucolic backdrop for romance novelist Castillo's consistently chilling mystery debut. Kate Burkholder grew up in idyllic Painters Mill, where many residents drive buggies, shun electricity, and distance themselves from the complications of modern life. The presence of a serial killer shatters the stillness of the town, leaving its citizenry terrified and on guard. During this time, young Kate's life takes a fateful turn when she is sexually assaulted by an Amish man named Daniel Lapp. She shoots Lapp in self-defense and, seeing blood splattered across the floor, is certain he's dead. (Her father drags away the body, and the family banishes the incident from their memories, never reporting it to police.) With Lapp's demise, the area murders cease. Rattled residents rest easily once again. Fast-forward 16 years. Kate, now chief of police in Painters Mill, is faced with a series of brutal crimes in which the female victims are tortured and raped. Could Daniel Lapp still be alive? Kate battles her inner demons as she tracks down a killer who shows no sign of letting up. Can she come clean about her past without losing her job? Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense.--Block, Allison Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: ""A gun-toting, cursing, former Amish female chief of police" stars in this excellent first in a new suspense series from romance veteran Castillo (Fade to Red). When a serial killer strikes bucolic Painters Mill, Ohio, the killer's signature-Roman numerals ritualistically carved into each victim's abdomen-matches the MO of four unsolved murders from 16 years earlier. Police chief Kate Burkholder, who's reluctant to dredge up the past, must keep secret that she knows why the old murders stopped. Not satisfied with the case's progress, local politicos set up a multijurisdictional task force to assist, including a law-enforcement agent battling his own demons. The added scrutiny and the rising body count threaten to push the chief over the edge. Adept at creating characters with depth and nuance, Castillo smoothly integrates their backstories into a well-paced plot that illuminates the divide between the Amish and "English" worlds. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Kate Burkholder Mystery series
Features Kate Burkholder, chief of police in the Amish town of Painters Mill, Ohio
#1 - Sworn to silence
#2 - Pray for silence
#3 - Breaking silence
#4 - Gone missing
#5 - Her last breath
#6 - The Dead will tell
#7 - After the storm
#8 - Among the wicked
#9 - Down a dark road
#10 - A Gathering of secrets
#11 - Shamed
Subjects Women police chiefs -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Amish -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Serial murderers -- Fiction.
Amish Country (Ohio) -- Fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher New York :Macmillan Audio,2009
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors McInerney, Kathleen (Actress)
Macmillan Audio (Firm)
Participants/Performers Read by Kathleen McInerney.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Compact disc.
"Includes a bonus interview with the author"--Container.
Description 9 audio discs (11 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781427206688
1427206686
Other Classic View