Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Sworn to silence

by Castillo, Linda.

Format: Large Print 2009
Availability: Available at 5 Libraries 6 of 6 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Large Print LP CASTILLO Linda
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP CASTILLO Linda
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books FICTION Castillo CL 13928
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Castillo CL 13928
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books FICTION Castillo CL 13928
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Castillo CL 13928
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Large Print Fiction LP CASTILLO Linda
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print Fiction
 
Call Number  LP CASTILLO Linda
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Large Print LP FIC CASTI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP FIC CASTI
 
 
Penn Hills Library Large Print LP CAS
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP CAS
 
 
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Ohio's Amish country serves as the bucolic backdrop for romance novelist Castillo's consistently chilling mystery debut. Kate Burkholder grew up in idyllic Painters Mill, where many residents drive buggies, shun electricity, and distance themselves from the complications of modern life. The presence of a serial killer shatters the stillness of the town, leaving its citizenry terrified and on guard. During this time, young Kate's life takes a fateful turn when she is sexually assaulted by an Amish man named Daniel Lapp. She shoots Lapp in self-defense and, seeing blood splattered across the floor, is certain he's dead. (Her father drags away the body, and the family banishes the incident from their memories, never reporting it to police.) With Lapp's demise, the area murders cease. Rattled residents rest easily once again. Fast-forward 16 years. Kate, now chief of police in Painters Mill, is faced with a series of brutal crimes in which the female victims are tortured and raped. Could Daniel Lapp still be alive? Kate battles her inner demons as she tracks down a killer who shows no sign of letting up. Can she come clean about her past without losing her job? Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense.--Block, Allison Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: ""A gun-toting, cursing, former Amish female chief of police" stars in this excellent first in a new suspense series from romance veteran Castillo (Fade to Red). When a serial killer strikes bucolic Painters Mill, Ohio, the killer's signature-Roman numerals ritualistically carved into each victim's abdomen-matches the MO of four unsolved murders from 16 years earlier. Police chief Kate Burkholder, who's reluctant to dredge up the past, must keep secret that she knows why the old murders stopped. Not satisfied with the case's progress, local politicos set up a multijurisdictional task force to assist, including a law-enforcement agent battling his own demons. The added scrutiny and the rising body count threaten to push the chief over the edge. Adept at creating characters with depth and nuance, Castillo smoothly integrates their backstories into a well-paced plot that illuminates the divide between the Amish and "English" worlds. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Thorndike Press large print mystery series.
Features Kate Burkholder, chief of police in the Amish town of Painters Mill, Ohio
#1 - Sworn to silence
#2 - Pray for silence
#3 - Breaking silence
#4 - Gone missing
#5 - Her last breath
#6 - The Dead will tell
#7 - After the storm
#8 - Among the wicked
#9 - Down a dark road
#10 - A Gathering of secrets
#11 - Shamed
Subjects Women police chiefs -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Amish -- Ohio -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Serial murderers -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Amish Country (Ohio) -- Fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher Waterville, Me. : Bath, England :Thorndike Press ;2009
Windsor :
Paragon,
Edition Large print ed.
Language English
Description 569 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
ISBN 9781410416612 (hbk. : alk. paper)
1410416615 (hbk. : alk. paper)
Other Classic View