Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The scourge of god : a novel of the change

by Stirling, S. M.,

Format: Print Book 2008
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 4 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Fiction FICTION Stirling
Location  Brentwood Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FICTION Stirling
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Stirling
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
Call Number  FICTION Stirling
Penn Hills Library Science Fiction STI SF
Location  Penn Hills Library
Collection  Science Fiction
Call Number  STI SF
Shaler North Hills Library Science Fiction SCI-FAN STIRLING
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
Collection  Science Fiction
"A stunning continuation"(Diana L. Paxson, author of Ravens of Avalon ) of the New York Times bestselling author's "splendid saga" chronicling an alternate world without technology.

Rudi MacKenzie continues his trek across the land that was once the United States of America. His destination: Nantucket, where he hopes to learn the truth behind The Change that rendered technology across the globe inoperable.

During his travels, Rudi forges ties with new allies in the continuing war against The Prophet, who teaches his followers that God has punished humanity by destroying technological civilization. And one fanatical officer in the Sword of The Prophet has been dispatched on a mission--to stop Rudi from reaching his destination by any means necessary.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* The Change saga (Dies the Fire, 2004; The Protector's War, 2005; A Meeting at Corvallis, 2006) and its current protagonist, Rudi Mackenzie, march on, with Stirling showing his usual high skill at sucking the reader in. Rudi is continuing his exploration of post-Change America and finding more and more evidence that somebody is manifesting as supernatural beings out of various mythologies. Is/are it/they god/gods from outer space, or somewhere closer to home? Rudi faces more mundane problems, too, such as whether he is in the process of becoming a father. The pacing of the opening is breakneck, and no concessions whatsoever are made to readers unfamiliar with the series' backstory and characters (so perhaps this isn't the book to start reading the saga with; then, again . . .). After awhile, things slow down somewhat, but never too much. Stirling is a perfect master of keep-them-up-all-night pacing, possibly the best in American sf, quite capable of sweeping readers all the way to the end, with a galley going under a bridge in Dubuque in the Provisional Republic of Iowa, and leaving them crying for more. Fortunately, Stirling's plans include at least four more Change novels.--Green, Roland Copyright 2008 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Starred Review. This vivid sequel to 2007's The Sunrise Lands opens in 2021, a generation after the Change that brought magic back into the world and made electric and explosive power inoperative. New post-industrial societies have risen, some seeking to restore technology and some celebrating its demise. One of the latter is the Church Universal and Triumphant, a group of genocidal Luddites with a prophetic theology that is more Dark Ages than New Age. Clan leader Rudi MacKenzie frequently butts heads with the Cutters and their Prophet as he struggles to cross the devastated Eastern Death Zones and reach Nantucket Island, birthplace of the Change, where he hopes to understand and perhaps reverse the replacement of technology with myth and magic. Stirling (The Sunrise Lands) eloquently describes a devastated, mystical world that will appeal to fans of traditional fantasy as well as post-apocalyptic SF. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series The Sunrise Lands series
The children born after the Change are now starting to take center stage
#1 - The Sunrise lands
#2 - The Scourge of God
#3 - The Sword of the lady
Subjects Regression (Civilization) -- Fiction.
Science fiction.
Publisher New York :Roc,2008
Language English
Notes "A ROC book."
Description viii, 450 pages : map ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780451462282
Other Classic View