You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Do unto otters : (a book about manners)

by Keller, Laurie,

Format: Print Book 2007
Availability: Available at 25 Libraries 27 of 41 copies
Available (27)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Juvenile Theme Collection TC GROWING
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Theme Collection
 
Call Number  TC GROWING
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Picture Books PB KELLER Laurie
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  PB KELLER Laurie
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Picture Books P GROWING UP KEL
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  P GROWING UP KEL
 
 
CLP - Beechview Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Brookline Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Carrick Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Hill District Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Kiosk qj FICTION Keller
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Kiosk
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Keller
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Closed Stack Area qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Closed Stack Area
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books qj FICTION Keller
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Keller
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books qj FICTION Keller
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Keller
 
 
CLP - West End Children's Picture Books qj Fic Keller,
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj Fic Keller,
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Easy Readers J E Kel
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Easy Readers
 
Call Number  J E Kel
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Juvenile Picture Book J PIC Kell
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  J PIC Kell
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Juvenile Picture Books Sp j KEL
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  Sp j KEL
 
 
Dormont Public Library Social SOCIAL KELL
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Social
 
Call Number  SOCIAL KELL
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's Easy E EMO KEL
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Easy
 
Call Number  E EMO KEL
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Picture Book ANIMALS JPIC KELLER
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  ANIMALS JPIC KELLER
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Easy Fiction E KE
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Easy Fiction
 
Call Number  E KE
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Picture Book q Juv Pict Kel
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  q Juv Pict Kel
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Picture Books J E KEL
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  J E KEL
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Picture Book j PICT BK KELLER
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  j PICT BK KELLER
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Picture Book J E KEL
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  J E KEL
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Children's Picture Books CF KELL
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  CF KELL
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Picture Books E KEL COMMUNITY
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  E KEL COMMUNITY
 
 
 
Unavailable (14)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Picture Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library - Turtle Creek Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library - Turtle Creek
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - South Side Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juvenile CHECKED OUT
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Mr. Rabbit's new neighbors are Otters. OTTERS! But he doesn't know anything about Otters. Will they get along? Will they be friends? Just treat otters the same way you'd like them to treat you, advises wise Mr. Owl. And so begins Mr. Rabbit's reflection on good manners.

In her smart, quirky style Laurie Keller highlights how to be a good friend and neighbor--just follow the Golden Rule! This title has Common Core connections.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

Do Unto Otters is a 2008 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* From the gleeful title pun to the kinetic illustrations, this clever book from the creator of Open Wide: Tooth School Inside (2000) introduces the golden rule with irresistible humor. Mr. Rabbit is worried about life with his new neighbors, the Otter family: I don't know anything about otters. What if we don't get along?  Then a wise bird introduces Mr. Rabbit to a favorite saying: Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you. As Rabbit ponders how he would like to be treated, he covers the basics of polite and responsible behavior, from saying a cheerful hello  and please and thank you to being honest, considerate, and kind. The clean design features well-placed arrows and other visual cues to help children quickly jump through the multiple images on each page, a feature that, combined with the wildly expressive cartoon-style animal characters, makes the scenes feel like part of an animated film. As usual, Keller packs the tale with unabashedly goofy puns, jokes, and even a few fart references, and the sheer silliness and well-tuned comic timing of it all will easily pull kids into the clearly explained concepts. Pair this sly, intelligent guide to etiquette with other equally unstuffy picture-book titles in the adjacent Read-alikes: Mind Your Manners. --Engberg, Gillian Copyright 2007 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Keller's (The Scrambled States of America) latest offers lessons in the social graces, featuring Mr. Rabbit and his whiskery new neighbors, the otters. "I don't know anything about otters," the pink-eyed, pink-nosed protagonist agonizes. "What if we don't get along?" At this, a bookish owl pops in from the margin with an apt take on the Golden Rule: "Do unto otters as you would have otters do unto you." Hmmm...," muses Mr. Rabbit, "How would I like otters to treat me?" When he opines, "I'd like otters to be polite," a gray otter in polka-dot shorts demonstrates how to say "please" in five languages (counting Pig Latin), then does the same for "thank you" and the indispensable "excuse me." Later, the smiling otters "co-otter-ate" and help friends move a heavy log. Even disagreements can be managed. Keller loads her acrylic-on-paper images with comical asides and tangential conversations, and goggle eyes, rubbery smiles and rounded teeth suggest her cast's goofball personalities; no mistaking them for Little Lord Fauntleroys. Without prescribing perfect etiquette, Keller serves up sound, friendly advice for maintaining a peaceable kingdom. Ages 5-8. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Golden rule -- Juvenile fiction.
Neighborliness -- Juvenile fiction.
Rabbits -- Juvenile fiction.
Otters -- Juvenile fiction.
Golden rule -- Fiction.
Neighborliness -- Fiction.
Rabbits -- Fiction.
Otters -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, N.Y. :H. Holt,2007
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
ISBN 0805079963
9780805079968
Other Classic View