Format: DVD 2004
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 2 copies
1 person on waitlist
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Carnegie Library of Homestead AV DVD 780.96 Watt
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
Collection  AV
Call Number  DVD 780.96 Watt
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
On August 20, 1972, more than 100,000 people attended what came to be known as the 'black Woodstock.' Wattstax documents this historic event and includes the once-lost original ending.
What you see is what you get / The Dramatics
Oh la de da ; We the people ; Respect yourself / The Staple Singers
Star spangled banner ; Lift every voice & sing / Kim Weston
Someone greater than you & I / Jimmy Jones
Lying on the truth / Rance Allen Group
Peace be still / The Emotions
Old time religion / various performers
Son of Shaft / Bar Kays
I'll sing the blues for you / Albert King
Walking the backstreet & crying / Little Milton
Jody / Johnnie Taylor
I may not be what you want / Mel & Tim
Picking up the pieces / Carla Thomas
Breakdown ; Funky chicken / Rufus Thomas
If loving you is wrong I don't want to be right / Luther Ingram
Shaft ; Soulsville / Isaac Hayes.

Additional Information
Subjects Popular music -- 1971-1980.
African Americans -- Music.
African American musicians.
Publisher Burbank, CA :Distributed by Warner Home Video,2004
Edition 30th-anniversary special ed., widescreen.
Contributors Bell, Al.
Wolper, David L.
Shaw, Larry.
Stuart, Mel.
Weston, Kim.
Jones, Jimmy (Gospel singer)
King, Albert, 1923-1992.
Little Milton.
Taylor, Johnnie.
Thomas, Carla, 1942-
Thomas, Rufus, 1917-2001.
Ingram, Luther.
Hayes, Isaac.
Pryor, Richard, 1940-2005.
Dramatics (Musical group)
Staple Singers.
Rance Allen Group (Musical group)
Emotions (Musical group)
Bar-Kays (Musical group)
Mel & Tim.
Stax Films (Firm)
Wolper Pictures (Firm)
Warner Home Video (Firm)
Participants/Performers Commentary, Richard Pryor.
Other Contributors Editors, Robert K. Lambert, David Newhouse, David Blewitt.
Audience MPAA rating: R.
Language English
Notes Originally produced in 1972.
Special features: Commentary by rap activist and musicologist Chuck D. and music historian and author Rob Bowman; commentary by director Mel Stuart, director of photography Larry Clark, Al Bell and Isaac Hayes; "Rolling Down a Mountain": the original 1973 ending performed by Isaac Hayes; uncut Albert King performance; vocals direct from the soul; the 1973 theatrical trailer; 2003 special edition trailer.
System Details DVD, region 1, widescreen presentation; Dolby digital, surround 5.1, stereo.
Description 1 videodisc (103 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 0790794594
Other Classic View