Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The lighthouse land

by McKinty, Adrian.

Format: Print Book 2006
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 2 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Young Adult Fiction YA McKINTY
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA McKINTY
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Young Adult YA FIC MCK
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC MCK
 
 
Summary
The first in a new epic sci-fi series, perfect for fans of Orson Scott Card's Ender books or Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials
Introducing the first young adult novel from crime fiction writer Adrian McKinty, whose adult books have been called unputdownable (Washington Post), exceptional (San Francisco Chronicle), and profoundly satisfying (Booklist).
When Jamie's mother inherits a small island, and moves her little family from Harlem to Ireland, her troubled son sees a chance to start over, far away from the bullies and the pitying stares. Cancer has left Jamie without an arm or the will to speak. But Muck Island offers more than solitude and sea views. Jamie learns that he is heir to an ancient title, Laird of Muck, Guardian of the Passage, and certain otherworldly responsibilities. With the help of a mysterious object he discovers in the island's old lighthouse, Jamie sets out on a dangerous mission that will change the course of his life, and possibly the universe, forever.
Tautly paced and brilliantly imagined, this novel will thrill sci-fi fans eager for new heroes and new worlds to explore.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "An inheritance changes the fortunes of 13-year-old Jamie and his mother in the first installment of an sf trilogy by crime novelist McKinty. They move from Harlem to a lighthouse in Ireland, where Jamie is Laird of Muck Island. Having recently lost an arm to bone cancer, Jamie has become selectively mute, but a new friend, Ramsay, and a computer tablet that speaks for him boost Jamie's confidence. An artifact found in the lighthouse teleports the boys to and from a distant planet, where they help the Aldanese people fend off invaders. Jaime's arm becomes whole there, and he finds his voice again. The boys' friendship and banter is delightful, although the world building and some of the alien characters, including the love interest, a girl named Wishaway, need more substance. There's also plenty of action, as well as the potential of Irish legends playing into the sequels. Jamie's struggles with self-worth and his difficulty deciding whether to stay or to go home may remind readers of books in Mary Hoffman's Stravaganza series. --Cindy Dobrez Copyright 2006 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "McKinty, previously known for adult crime novels, brings an attuned ear for dialogue and a taut pacing to his first YA outing, the launch title in the Lighthouse Trilogy. Thirteen-year-old Jamie O'Neill lost his arm in cancer surgery a year ago, and has not spoken a word since. During that time, his father also left the family to marry again and settle in Seattle. Jamie's life of near-poverty with his single mother changes dramatically with the arrival of a letter, informing his mother that she has inherited a lighthouse estate in Ireland, and the 10-acre island on which it rests. By the second chapter, Jamie and his mother are living in their new home, and have learned that Jamie will become a laird (or lord) on his 18th birthday. In a hidden chamber within the lighthouse, Jamie discovers a strange device that teleports him and his new friend Ramsay to Aldan, a city "ninety-six light-years" away. There a girl named Wishaway informs him he is the prophesied savior come to rescue her people from the invading iceships of Alkhava. But the attack is already underway, and the residents of Aldan are taken captive to be sold as slaves. Jamie leads a resourceful counterattack, and while the action will keep the pages turning, it is the dialogue between Jamie and Ramsay, replete with pop-culture references, that makes this such an enjoyable trip. An intelligent, open-ended mythology allows for additions to the series, but this volume solidly stands on its own. Ages 11-15. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series McKinty, Adrian. Lighthouse trilogy ; bk. 1.
#1 - The Lighthouse land
#2 - The Lighthouse war
#3 - The Lighthouse keepers
Subjects Time travel -- Fiction.
Magic -- Fiction.
Time travel -- Juvenile fiction.
Magic -- Juvenile fiction.
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction.
Ireland -- Fiction.
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction.
Ireland -- Juvenile fiction.
Publisher New York :Amulet,2006
Language English
Description 387 pages : map ; 21 cm.
ISBN 081095480X
Other Classic View