You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Pawleys Island [a Lowcountry tale]

by Frank, Dorothea Benton.

Format: Book on CD 2005
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 2 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
Green Tree Public Library Adult Audiobooks CD BK FRA
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Audiobooks
 
Call Number  CD BK FRA
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Audiovisual CD FRANK [B-O-CD]
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Call Number  CD FRANK [B-O-CD]
 
 
Summary
Of the many barrier islands that pepper the coast of South Carolina's Lowcountry, Pawleys Island, the "arrogantly shabby" family playground for generations, might be the most mysterious and charming of them all. It is here and in the surrounding area that Dorothea Benton Frank has placed her latest Lowcountry tale, Pawleys Island. Meet Huey Valentine, the owner of Gallery Valentine, catering to interior decorators and, heaven save us, tourists. Huey resides on his family plantation on the shores of the Waccamaw River, where he cares for his mother, Miss Olivia, a wise and irresistible octogenarian. And meet Huey's great friend Abigail Thurmond, retired attorney from Columbia, who has laid claim to her family's home on Pawleys Island. Huey and Abigail are complacent in their fat and sassy lives until the stormy advent of the artist Rebecca Simms. Rebecca has been catapulted from her home, her marriage, and her children. She has escaped to Pawleys Island to hide herself from herself. But after Miss Olivia pries Rebecca's secrets from her, Huey and especially Abigail are challenged to reenter life outside the dream state their idyllic geography evokes. They will see that Rebecca has her day in court, but they never expect to provoke a national forum for discussion. With characteristic humor and a full cast of eccentric and wonderfully lovable characters, Dorothea Benton Frank brings us her most honest and entertaining story to date. People have secrets they never want anyone to know. People have pasts they would prefer be left out of conversation. In Frank's nimble hands, it all comes spilling out to be examined and reconciled.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Frank's fifth book in her Lowcountry series (following Shem Creek, 2004) focuses on the tight-knit community of Pawleys Island, an arrogantly shabby oasis off the coast of South Carolina. Shifting first-person narratives invite you into this charming southern isle that, behind its decorum, is the kind of place that you don't go unless you want your life shaken and stirred. Rebecca Simms naively seeks retreat there, but she soon realizes just how tangled and involved island life can be. Her new employer, his feisty mother, and their ex-lawyer friend all drag out Rebecca's painful past. Through these newfound friends' curiosity and genuine concern, Rebecca soon finds that she cannot hide from her recently shattered marriage. This compulsively readable novel tackles the weighty topics of marital infidelity and self-transformation, but its warm conversational tone will give it appeal to fans of both Fannie Flagg and Larry McMurtry's Terms of Endearment. A true southern comfort. --Misha Stone Copyright 2005 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Bestseller Frank's fifth Lowcountry Tale is a lively story about friendship and family, Southern-style. On the small South Carolina barrier island that gives the book its title, semiretired attorney Abigail Thurmond spends most of her days playing golf and gossiping with her best friend, the portly, lovably aristocratic Huey Valentine. But their comfortable lives of leisure are turned upside-down with the arrival of one diminutive Rebecca Sims. Becca's obvious artistic talent and poise make it easy for Huey to show her art and hire her to manage his art gallery, but when his 86-year-old mother unearths Becca's tragic past, Huey can't help sticking his aquiline nose in her business. Once an attentive wife and loving mother of two in Charleston, Becca became the victim of her abusive husband, who turned her children against her and then filed for divorce. Abigail and Huey must help their new friend, of course, and as they draw closer to one another through Becca's tribulations, Abigail is finally able to examine the ghosts that have haunted her for years, and Huey gets to reveal a (pretty unsurprising) secret of his own. Frank's absorbing narrative manages to feel both authentically Southern and universally empathetic. Agent, Amy Berkower. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Lowcountry Tale
#1 - Sullivan's Island
#2 - Plantation
#3 - Isle of palms
#4 - Shem Creek
#5 - Pawleys Island
#6 - Return to Sullivan's Island
#7 - Lowcountry summer
#8 - Folly Beach
Subjects Art dealers -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Plantation life -- Fiction.
Seaside resorts -- Fiction.
Secrecy -- Fiction.
Women artists -- Fiction.
Women lawyers -- Fiction.
Pawleys Island (S.C.) -- Fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher Grand Haven, MI :Brilliance Audio,2005
Edition Abridged ed.
Participants/Performers Read by the author.
Language English
Notes Compact disc.
Subtitle from container.
Description 5 audio discs (approximately 6 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 1597371750 :
Other Classic View