We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

A coalition of lions

by Wein, Elizabeth.

Format: Print Book 2003
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j WEIN
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j WEIN
 
 
Summary
With taut, evocative writing, Elizabeth Wein transports the reader to sixth-century Africa, vividly capturing its sights, sounds, and smells, and with them the lives of the Aksumite people. A Coalition of Lionsfollows Wein's acclaimed The Winter Princein an ongoing Arthurian cycle-and is firmly in the tradition of Rosemary Sutcliff and Robin McKinley in its excitement, attention to detail, and heroine to remember.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Gr. 7^-12. Wein transports readers to sixth-century Africa in a richly spun historical novel that follows her Arthurian fantasy The Winter Prince (1993). The narrator, Goewin, is a passionate young woman who has recently lost her father, the high king of Britain, her mother, and brothers. She and her ambassador friend Priamos venture 4,000 miles from Britain to Aksum (present-day Ethiopia), where Goewin seeks to determine her fate as princess of Britain and promised wife of the viceroy Constantine. The story perks up considerably when she discovers the charming, precocious, six-year-old Telemakos, grandson of the high king. Themes of loyalty and betrayal, imprisonment and freedom, brotherhood rivalry (the coalition of lions), and love fill the pages of this ambitious novel whose magic lies in its emotional intensity and in the unusual vibrancy and intelligence of its characters. Readers unfamiliar with the first book may be frustrated by the complexity of the second, but royal family guides are supplied, along with maps, a glossary of terms, and a historical note. --Karin Snelson"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Also embroidering on Arthuriana, Elizabeth Wein's A Coalition of Lions (sequel to The Winter Prince) follows the daughter of the slain High King Artos and Ginevra to Aksum (Ethiopia), where she is to meet Constantine, her father's heir and the British ambassador. Steeped in historical and literary details and informed by detailed endnotes, the novel lays down a challenge to motivated readers. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Arthur, -- King -- Fiction.
Princesses -- Fiction.
Mordred (Legendary character) -- Fiction.
Aksum (Kingdom) -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Viking,2003
Language English
Notes Sequel to: Winter prince.
Description 210 pages : map ; 22 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references.
ISBN 0670036188
Other Classic View