The Library Catalog will be unavailable for a brief period between 10:00 pm and 11 PM today for emergency maintenance.

Survival in the storm : the dust bowl diary of Grace Edwards

by Janke, Katelan.

Format: Print Book 2002
Availability: Available at 10 Libraries 10 of 11 copies
Available (10)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv DEAR America
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
Call Number  juv DEAR America
Brentwood Library Juvenile Series JUV Dear
Location  Brentwood Library
Collection  Juvenile Series
Call Number  JUV Dear
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Childrens' Room j FIC JAN
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
Collection  Childrens' Room
Call Number  j FIC JAN
F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library Juvenile Fiction JUV F Janke
Location  F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
Call Number  JUV F Janke
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction Janke
Location  Monroeville Public Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
Call Number  Janke
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J SERIES DEAR
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
Collection  Juvenile
Call Number  J SERIES DEAR
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j JAN
Location  Penn Hills Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
Call Number  j JAN
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Fiction J F DEA
Location  Sewickley Public Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
Call Number  J F DEA
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j SERIES DEA [DEAR AMERICA]
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
South Park Library Juvenile jF DEA
Location  South Park Library
Collection  Juvenile
Call Number  jF DEA
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Children Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
Collection  Children Fiction
Fourteen-year-old Katelan Janke writes this exciting and harrowing tale of Grace Edwards and her family's struggle to survive the dangers and despair of the American Dust Bowl.

In fourteen-year-old Katelan Janke's first Dear America book, we meet Grace Edwards, a little girl growing up in the heart of the Texas panhandle, in the midst of the Dust Bowl. Fierce, dust-filled winds ravage the plains and threaten the town's agricultural livelihood, creating poverty and despair among Grace's neighbors. Will her family's farm survive?

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Gr. 4^-8. In a strong Dear America series book, Grace Edwards uses her journal to tell the story of a year (1935) in the Texas Panhandle town of Dalhart during the days of the Dust Bowl. Centered on a 12-year-old's perspective of home and school, chores and friends, Grace's diary reveals in graphic detail what life was like when farms failed, families went hungry, and children died from dust pneumonia because no rain fell. Old photographs and advertisements, part of the Historical Notes section, add further detail to a rather depressing, but fictionalized, authentically flavored account of a significant portion of American history, which is made more remarkable by the fact that Janke was only 15 years old when the novel was published. The story grew from a selection she wrote for the 1998 Arrow Book Club/Dear America Student Writing Contest. --Frances Bradburn"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series Dear America.
Each book is written in the form of a diary of a young woman's life during an important event or time period in American history
#1 - A Journey to the New World
#2 - The Winter of red snow
#3 - When will this cruel war be over?
#4 - A Picture of freedom
#5 - Across the wide and lonesome prairie
#6 - So far from home
#7 - I Thought my soul would rise and fly
#8 - West to a land of plenty
#9 - Dreams in the golden country
#10 - Standing in the light
#11 - Voyage on the great Titanic
#12 - A Line in the sand
#13 - My Heart is on the ground
#14 - The Great railroad race
#15 - A Light in the storm
#16 - The Girl who chased away sorrow
#17 - A Coal miner's bride
#18 - Color me dark
#19 - One eye laughing, the other weeping
#20 - My Secret war
#21 - Valley of the moon
#22 - Seeds of hope
#23 - Christmas after all
#24 - Early Sunday morning
#25 - My face to the wind
#26 - Where have all the flowers gone?
#27 - A Time for courage
#28 - Mirror, mirror on the wall
#29 - Survival in the storm
#30 - When Christmas comes again
#31 - Land of the buffalo bones
#32 - Love thy neighbor
#33 - All the stars in the sky
#34 - Look to the hills
#35 - I walk in dread
#36 - Hear my sorrow
#37 - The Fences between us
#38 - Like the willow tree
#39 - Cannons at dawn
#40 - With the might of angels
#41 - Behind the masks
#42 - Down the rabbit hole
Subjects Depressions -- 1929 -- Texas -- Juvenile fiction.
Dust Bowl Era, 1931-1939 -- Juvenile fiction.
Depressions -- 1929 -- Texas -- Fiction.
Dust storms -- Fiction.
Farm life -- Texas -- Fiction.
Family life -- Texas -- Fiction.
Diaries -- Fiction.
Texas -- History -- 1846-1950 -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Scholastic,2002
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 189 pages : illustrations, map ; 20 cm.
ISBN 0439215994 :
Other Classic View