We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The secret life of bees

by Kidd, Sue Monk.

Format: Print Book 2002
Availability: Available at 20 Libraries 20 of 26 copies
Available (20)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Fiction Collection F KIDD
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  F KIDD
 
 
Avalon Public Library Fiction FIC KID
Location  Avalon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KID
 
 
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult YA KID
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA KID
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Fiction FIC KIDD Sue
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KIDD Sue
 
 
Brentwood Library Fiction FICTION Kidd
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Kidd
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Young Adult Fiction YA Kid
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA Kid
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Kidd
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Kidd
 
 
CLP - West End Fiction Collection FICTION Kidd, Su
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Kidd, Su
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Fiction FIC KIDD
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KIDD
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F KID
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F KID
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Tarentum Fiction FIC KIDD
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Tarentum
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KIDD
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction Fic Kidd
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Kidd
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction KIDD
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  KIDD
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction KIDD Sue Monk
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  KIDD Sue Monk
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F KIDD Sue
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F KIDD Sue
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction KIDD Sue Monk
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  KIDD Sue Monk
 
 
North Versailles Public Library Fiction FIC KIDD
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KIDD
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction KI
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  KI
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Fiction FIC KID
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC KID
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Kidd
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Kidd
 
 
 
Unavailable (6)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction DAMAGED
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  DAMAGED
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
South Park Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick

Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964,  The Secret Life of Bees  will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Kidd's warm debut is set in the sixties, just after the civil rights bill has been passed. Fourteen-year-old Lily Owens is haunted by the accidental death of her mother 10 years earlier, which left her in the care of her brutal, angry father but also Rosaleen, a strong, proud black woman. After Rosaleen is thrown into jail for standing up to a trio of racists, Lily helps her escape from the hospital where she is being kept, and the two flee to Tiburon, a town Lily believes her mother had a connection to. A clue among her mother's possessions leads Lily to the Boatwright sisters, three black women who keep bees. They give Lily and Rosaleen the haven they need, but Lily remains haunted by her mother's death and her own involvement in it. Although she fears her father is looking for her, Lily manages to find solace among the strong women who surround her and, eventually, the truth about her mother that she has been seeking. An uplifting story. --Kristine Huntley"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Honey-sweet but never cloying, this debut by nonfiction author Kidd (The Dance of the Dissident Daughter) features a hive's worth of appealing female characters, an offbeat plot and a lovely style. It's 1964, the year of the Civil Rights Act, in Sylvan, S.C. Fourteen-year-old Lily is on the lam with motherly servant Rosaleen, fleeing both Lily's abusive father T. Ray and the police who battered Rosaleen for defending her new right to vote. Lily is also fleeing memories, particularly her jumbled recollection of how, as a frightened four-year-old, she accidentally shot and killed her mother during a fight with T. Ray. Among her mother's possessions, Lily finds a picture of a black Virgin Mary with "Tiburon, S.C." on the back so, blindly, she and Rosaleen head there. It turns out that the town is headquarters of Black Madonna Honey, produced by three middle-aged black sisters, August, June and May Boatwright. The "Calendar sisters" take in the fugitives, putting Lily to work in the honey house, where for the first time in years she's happy. But August, clearly the queen bee of the Boatwrights, keeps asking Lily searching questions. Faced with so ideally maternal a figure as August, most girls would babble uncontrollably. But Lily is a budding writer, desperate to connect yet fiercely protective of her secret interior life. Kidd's success at capturing the moody adolescent girl's voice makes her ambivalence comprehensible and charming. And it's deeply satisfying when August teaches Lily to "find the mother in (herself)" a soothing lesson that should charm female readers of all ages. (Jan. 28) Forecast: Blurbs from an impressive lineup of women writers Anita Shreve, Susan Isaacs, Ursula Hegi pitch this book straight at its intended readership. It's hard to say whether confusion with the similarly titled Bee Season will hurt or help sales, but a 10-city author tour should help distinguish Kidd. Film rights have been optioned and foreign rights sold in England and France. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects African American women -- Fiction.
Teenage girls -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Beekeepers -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Viking,2002
Language English
Description xii, 301 pages ; 23 cm
ISBN 9780670032372 (hardcover)
0670032379 (hardcover)
9780670894604 (hardcover)
Other Classic View