Allegheny County Public libraries are closed to the public, but the digital library is open! Check out the eLibrary site for more information. If you need a library card, sign up here. Check your local library's website for more information about closures.

Birds of prey

by Smith, Wilbur A.

Format: Print Book 1997
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 8 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Fiction FIC S
Location  Brentwood Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FIC S
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction SMIT
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
Collection  Adult Fiction
Call Number  SMIT
Monroeville Public Library Fiction Smith
Location  Monroeville Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  Smith
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F THR SMITH
Location  Moon Township Public Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  F THR SMITH
Penn Hills Library Fiction SMI
Location  Penn Hills Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  SMI
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction Fic Smi
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
Collection  Adult Fiction
Call Number  Fic Smi
Plum Community Library Fiction FIC SMI
Location  Plum Community Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  FIC SMI
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction SMI
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  SMI
In hardcover, Birds of Prey (0-312-15791-6) hit bestseller lists across the country. There are over 75,000 copies in print.
-- Wilbur Smith has written 26 novels; there are over 65 million copies of his books in print worldwide, and his books have been published in 27 countries.
-- The Washington Post has called Smith one of the world's most popular and prolific adventure writ
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Smith, author of the best-sellers River God (1994) and The Seventh Scroll (1995), offers another meticulously researched, exhaustive adventure saga in this, his latest novel. Set in 1667, the story follows the escapades of the infamous pirate Sir Francis Courteney and his son, Hal. After the Courteneys and their rough-hewn pirate crew raid a Dutch East India Company ship (in the name of the British crown), they are pursued from one end of the African coast to the other. During the chase, treacherous sea battles ensue, with gory deaths and gruesome shark and crocodile attacks thrown in for good measure. Eventually, the pirates are captured, and Sir Francis is executed, forcing young Hal to take over as leader. A swashbuckling, epic tale of love, deceit, bravery, and drama on the high seas, this book is filled with menacing pirates, honorable sea captains, treacherous and greedy men and women, and sea galleons loaded with treasure. Fans of Smith's previous work will not be disappointed. --Kathleen Hughes"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Swashbuckling adventures at sea and on land highlight Smith's latest (after The Seventh Scroll), a number-one bestseller in England that's likely to climb the charts here. Set along the African coast during the mid-1600s, this fierce and bloody yarn features Hal Courteney, a classic seafaring hero in the making. The young sailor has been raised under the stern tutelage of his father, Sir Francis Courteney, and the somewhat gentler guidance of his African-born mentor, Aboli. Word of a truce between England and Holland doesn't reach Sir Francis in time to prevent him from capturing a treasure-laden Dutch galleon. Falsely accused of piracy, the Corteneys soon have more enemies than they can handle, including the insatiable libertine Katinka van de Velde, who sets her sights on the Courteney charge. Hal's coming-of-age is predictably spiced with romance, sea battles, imprisonments, daring escapes and an exotic voyage from Southern Africa to the Red Sea; even buried treasure and the Holy Grail figure into the plot, as befits a tale of uncompromising good guys and their irredeemably evil enemies. Smith's depiction of the African coast, and of life aboard ship, is vivid and believable. He handles the action sequences well, opting for short, trenchant paragraphs to sustain momentum. After 27 novels, Smith knows what his readers want, and once again he delivers the goods. Major ad/promo. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Courtney Family Saga
Books 9, 10, 11, 14 are prequels to the rest of the series
#1 - When the lion feeds
#2 - The Sound of thunder
#3 - A Sparrow falls
#4 - The Burning shore
#5 - Power of the sword
#6 - Rage
#7 - Golden fox
#8 - A Time to die
#9 - Birds of prey
#10 - Monsoon
#11 - Blue horizon
#12 - The Triumph of the sun
#13 - Assegai
#14 - Golden lion
#15 - War cry
#16 - The Tiger's prey
#17 - Courtney's war
#18 - Ghost fire
Subjects Pirates -- Indian Ocean -- Fiction.
Hijacking of ships -- Fiction.
South Africa -- History -- To 1836 -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :St. Martin's Press,1997
Edition 1st U.S. ed.
Language English
Notes "First published in Great Britain by Macmillan"--T.p. verso.
"A Thomas Dunne book."
Description 554 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 0312157916
Other Classic View