Complete Slavonic dances : for piano four hands : from the Czech complete-works edition

by Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904.

Language: No linguistic content
Format: Music Score 1992
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor - Music - Open Stacks q M201 .D9 op. 46 1992
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor - Music - Open Stacks
Call Number  q M201 .D9 op. 46 1992

The two series of piano duets combined in this volume are among Dvoř#65533;k's most famous compositions and among the most performed works in the piano four hands repertoire. The composer intended them as artistic stylizations of typical Slavonic dances such as the furiant, the dumka, the polka, the skočn#65533;, the odzemek, and the kolo.
The first series of eight dances, Opus 46 (1878), is full of joy and vitality. The second set of eight dances, Opus 72 (1886), is slightly more somber and meditative. Both series will delight pianists with their exciting rhythms and fresh, highly individual invention. They are reprinted here from the authoritative Czechoslovakian editions of Dvoř#65533;k's complete works.

Op. 46 (1878)
Op. 72 (1886).

Additional Information
Subjects Piano music (4 hands)
Dance music -- Slovakia.
Publisher New York :Dover,1992
Other Titles Slovanské tance,
Slovanské tance,
Slavonic dances
Contributors Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904. Slovanské tance,
Language No linguistic content
Notes Reprint. Originally published: Prague : Artia, 1955. (Souborné vydání del Antonína Dvoráka. Series 5 ; v. 5).
Editorial notes in English.
Description 1 score (xiii, 129 pages) ; 28 cm
ISBN 048627019X
Other Classic View