You may experience a brief service interruption between 9:00 PM and 5:00 AM on Sunday 11/28 due to scheduled firewall maintenance.

Sarah, plain and tall

by MacLachlan, Patricia,

Format: Print Book 1985
Availability: Available at 28 Libraries 34 of 44 copies
Available (32)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv MACLACHLAN Patricia
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv MACLACHLAN Patricia
 
 
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction JUV MacLachl
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV MacLachl
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Fiction J Mac
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Mac
 
 
CLP - Beechview Children's First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Children's First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - Brookline Children's First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Children's First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - East Liberty First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Children's First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Children's First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's First Chapter Books j FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's First Chapter Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Children Fiction J Fic Mac
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Fic Mac
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Children Fiction J FIC Macl (Award Winner)
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC Macl (Award Winner)
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Children Fiction J MAC
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J MAC
 
 
Clairton Public Library Junior J MACL
Location  Clairton Public Library
 
Collection  Junior
 
Call Number  J MACL
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Children's Paperbacks NEWBERY jpb MAC
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Call Number  NEWBERY jpb MAC
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Childrens' Room NEWBERY j FIC MAC
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Childrens' Room
 
Call Number  NEWBERY j FIC MAC
 
 
Crafton Public Library Juvenile - Fiction J F MacLACHLAN 1985 CRAFTON
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile - Fiction
 
Call Number  J F MacLACHLAN 1985 CRAFTON
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Fiction J F MACLACHLAN
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F MACLACHLAN
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF MacLACHLAN
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF MacLACHLAN
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j MACLACHLAN Patricia
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j MACLACHLAN Patricia
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j MACLACHLAN
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j MACLACHLAN
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J FIC MACLA
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  J FIC MACLA
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC MacLACHLAN
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MacLACHLAN
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Juvenile Juv Fic Mac
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  Juv Fic Mac
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MAC
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MAC
 
 
Robinson Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MACLACHL
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MACLACHL
 
 
Scott Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MACLACHLAN
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MACLACHLAN
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Step Up j STEP-UP MAC
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Step Up
 
Call Number  j STEP-UP MAC
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Step Up j STEP-UP MAC
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Step Up
 
Call Number  j STEP-UP MAC
 
 
South Park Library Juvenile jF MAC
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  jF MAC
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction JUV NEWBERY MacLACHL S1
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV NEWBERY MacLACHL S1
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF MacLachlan
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF MacLachlan
 
 
 
Noncirculating (2)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Special Collections rj FICTION MacLachlan
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Special Collections
 
Call Number  rj FICTION MacLachlan
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Ready Reference JR FIC MAC
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Ready Reference
 
Call Number  JR FIC MAC
 
 
 
Unavailable (10)
Location Collection Status
ACLA Mobile Library Services Children's Fiction Collection ON HOLDSHELF
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Beechview Children's Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty First Chapter Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  First Chapter Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's First Chapter Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's First Chapter Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Children Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Newbery & Caldecott CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Newbery & Caldecott
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

This beloved Newbery Medal-winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Gr. 3-5. In a simple story evoking a strong sense of family, Sarah answers Jacob Witting's ad for a mail-order bride and agrees to a trial visit on his frontier farm. Jacob's children hope Sarah will stay, though she misses her Maine home on the sea."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Witting family (Fictitious characters) -- Juvenile fiction.
Children's stories, American.
Stepmothers -- Fiction.
Frontier and pioneer life -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Harper & Row,1985
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Notes "A Charlotte Zolotow book."
Awards Newbery Medal, 1986
Description 58 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780060241025
0060241020
9780060241018
0060241012
9780064402057
Other Classic View